

Association of Pacific Island Legislatures

American Samoa Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands FSM, State of Chuuk FSM, State of Kosrae FSM, State of Pohnpei FSM, State of Yap Island of Guam Republic of Kiribati Republic of the Marshall Islands Republic of Nauru Republic of Palau State of Hawaii

A RESOLUTION

APIL Resolution No. 62-BOD-18

"Congratulating the Honorable Anne-Marie Laamar for her election as the first female Senator to serve in the Yap State Legislature and wishing her the best as she undertakes the duties of law-making for the people of Yap."

WHEREAS, in November of 2022, the voters of the FSM State of Yap took the
polls to vote for the ten members of the Yap State Legislature, and the Honorable AnneMarie Laamar gained the second highest vote among all of the legislative candidates of
her district giving her a seat in the Legislature of Yap State; and

5 WHEREAS, the election of the Honorable Anne-Marie Laamar marks a 6 milestone in the history of the FSM State of Yap for she is the very first female ever to be 7 elected to the Yap State Legislature that can be celebrated by all the member jurisdictions 8 of the APIL Pacific; now, therefore,

9 **BE IT RESOLVED,** by the Association of Pacific Island Legislatures, 62nd 10 Board of Directors Meeting, FSM State of Kosrae, April 05 –06, 2023, that the Board of 11 Directors of the Association of Pacific Island Legislatures, for and on behalf of the 12 Association of Pacific Island Legislatures, hereby extends our most sincere and hardy 13 congratulations to the Honorable Anne-Marie Laamar for her successful election as the 14 first ever female Senator of the Yap State Legislature; and BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the APIL President shall certify, and the APIL
 Secretary shall attest to the adoption hereof and that copies of the same
 shall be thereafter transmitted to Yap State Senator Anne-Marie Laamar and to the Chief
 Executive and Legislative Presiding Officers of each member jurisdiction of the APIL.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED ON THE 6TH DAY OF APRIL, 2023.

NELSON STEPHEN

PRESIDENT

TESSIE ERIA LAMBOURNE SECRETARY

